/ Modified sep 10, 2018 3:44 p.m.

US House Candidates Ann Kirkpatrick, Lea Marquez Peterson to Debate in Tucson

The 2nd Congressional District candidates will meet at the Jewish Community Center Oct. 9.

Kirkpatrick Marquez Peterson Lea Marquez Peterson, left, and Ann Kirkpatrick
Gage Skidmore (left), and AZPM

Democrat Ann Kirkpatrick and Republican Lea Marquez Peterson will meet Oct. 9 in Tucson for a live, televised debate in their bids to represent Southern Arizona's 2nd Congressional District in the U.S. House of Representatives.

The district is consistently competitive, and this year the seat is up for grabs as Republican Martha McSally is leaving the spot open in a bid to replace retiring Sen. Jeff Flake in the U.S. Senate.

In the primary, Kirkpatrick beat Matt Heinz to take the Democratic ticket to the November general election while Marquez Peterson took the Republican nomination in the district, which was crowded on both sides of the aisle.

The debate will be moderated by AZPM reporter Christopher Conover and feature a panel of journalists, including Lorraine Rivera (AZPM), Steve Goldstein (KJZZ) and Joe Ferguson (Arizona Daily Star).

You can catch the debate live on NPR 89.1, PBS 6, or streamed on the AZPM website, 7-8 p.m., Oct. 9.

Your Vote 2018
Read more coverage of national, Arizona, and local elections at our 2018 elections portal, Your Vote 2018.
By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents. Arizona Public Media and AZPM are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.
The University of Arizona