/ Modified may 28, 2021 10:25 p.m.

Delegation members oppose partial retirement of A-10 jets

Many of the attack jets are based at Davis-Monthan Air Force Base in Tucson

Warthog A-10 An A-10 Thunderbolt II from the 74th Fighter Squadron at Moody Air Force Base in Georgia flies over Afghanistan in this 2011 photo. The Pentagon plans to retire 44 A-10s in fiscal 2021, which has put some Arizona lawmakers on alert.
Master Sgt. William Greer/U.S. Air Force

Six Democratic members of Arizona’s congressional delegation say they oppose a provision in President Joe Biden’s proposed budget to partially retire the Air Force’s A-10 attack jets, many of which are based in Tucson.

Delegation members releasing statements of support Friday for keeping A-10s in active service included Sens. Mark Kelly and Kyrsten Sinema and Representatives Ann Kirkpatrick, Ruben Gallego, Tom O’Halleran and Greg Stanton.

Supporters of the A-10 over the years have successfully headed off the Air Force’s periodic efforts to retire the Cold War-era aircraft for budget reasons.

The A-10 is valued by supporters for its ability to support ground combat forces.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media is a service of the University of Arizona and our broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents who hold the trademarks for Arizona Public Media and AZPM. We respectfully acknowledge the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples.
The University of Arizona