Miles Davis: The Sound Of Miles Davis

Episode 1 of 1

In a rare national television appearance filmed April 2, 1959, the legendary trumpet player performs with the Gil Evans Orchestra and one of his "great quintets," featuring tenor saxophonist John Coltrane, pianist Wynton Kelly, bassist Paul Chambers, and drummer Jimmy Cobb. Opening the set with "So What" off Kind of Blue (1959) - the biggest selling jazz record of all time - Davis takes extra solos prior to and directly after Coltrane to make up for the absence of alto saxophonist Julian "Cannonball" Adderley, who purportedly was unable to attend the taping due to illness. Tunes from Miles Ahead (1957) follows, including Dave Brubeck's "The Duke" - performed as part of a medley with Gil Evans' and Ahmad Jamal's "New Rhumba." The Gil Evans Orchestra features trumpeters Ernie Royal, Clyde Reasinger, Louis Mucci, Johnny Coles, and Emmett Berry; trombonists Frank Rehak, Jimmy Cleveland, Bill Elton, and Rod Levitt; woodwinds Romeo Penque and Eddie Caine; bass clarinetist Danny Bank; French horn players Robert Northern and Julius Watkins; and tubaist Bill Barber.

Previously Aired

4:30 a.m.
1:30 a.m.
Arizona Public Media broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents. Arizona Public Media and AZPM are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.
The University of Arizona