Seneca Falls

Episode 1 of 1

Directed by Peabody Award-winning filmmaker Louise Vance, "Seneca Falls" is a fresh and inspiring journey of discovery with nine diverse teenage girls bound for the birthplace of women's rights in America. A stunning history lesson wrapped inside a teenage road trip, the documentary is, above all, an awakening of young hearts and minds. "Seneca Falls" breathes life and relevance into a revolutionary act barely mentioned in history books: America's first women's rights convention, held in Seneca Falls, New York in 1848. The film follows WOWER Power, a struggling multi-cultural theater troupe from San Francisco, as they take their original play to the 150th Anniversary Celebration of this groundbreaking, yet largely forgotten, moment in American history. Accompanied by three adult women and one very thoughtful ten-year-old boy, the girls join tens of thousands gathered in Seneca Falls from around the world. There they unearth the exhilarating tale of the birth of women's movement and draw inspiration from leading historians and prominent elected officials, including a chance meeting with Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi and other Congressional leaders. They discover how ordinary citizens summoned the courage and determination to launch the largest social transformation in American history. The girls' odyssey culminates when they perform their play on the very ground where the original convention took place. In it, an African American girl time-travels back to 1848, gains knowledge and confidence from her foremothers, and goes on to become the first woman president of the United States. When the troupe ultimately steps out on stage, they forge lasting bonds born of their shared history and collective effort, and discover the undeniable power of their own voices.

Previously Aired

8 p.m.
2 a.m.
3 p.m.
2 a.m.
2 p.m.
Arizona Public Media broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents. Arizona Public Media and AZPM are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.
The University of Arizona