Songs at the Center

Season 6, Episode 10 of 13

Hosted by singer-songwriter Eric Gnezda, from the Woodward Opera House in Mt Vernon, OH (Pronunciations: Matraca=Mah-TRACE-ah; Womack= WOE-mack; Gnezda=NEZZ-duh). MATRACA BERG - Matraca Berg was the youngest person ever inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame. She is a three-time Grammy nominee. Her song, "Strawberry Wine," shot to No. 1 for Deana Carter, when it also earned Berg one of her three Grammy nominations. She has had more than 50 of her songs recorded by such artists as Reba McEntire, Randy Travis, Faith Hill, Martina McBride, Linda Ronstadt, Tanya Tucker, Keith Urban, Emmylou Harris, Kim Carnes, Ray Price and Loretta Lynn. MARSHALL CHAPMAN - Marshall Chapman is a songwriter, author and actor whose songs have been recorded by such diverse artists as Conway Twitty, Joe Cocker, Wynonna, and Jimmy Buffett. Her song, "Betty's Bein' Bad," was a No. 1 hit for Sawyer Brown. She is also the author of two books. She co-wrote the songs for the stage musical Good Ol' Girls. She appeared in the motion picture, Made in Heaven, and on the soundtrack of the movie, The Thing Called Love. She has recorded with Kris Kristofferson, Dolly Parton and Neil Young. TOMMY WOMACK - Tommy Womack has written songs for Jimmy Buffett, the late David Olney, and others. He is the author of two books, an account of his time with the band, Government Cheese, titled Cheese Chronicles: The True Story of a Rock Band You've Never Heard Of, and the Lavender Boys and Elsie. ABOUT THE VENUE - The Woodward Opera House in Mt. Vernon, OH, was built in 1851. Now on the National Register of Historic Places, the venue is one of America's oldest authentic 19th Century theaters in operation.

Previously Aired

4 a.m.
Arizona Public Media is a service of the University of Arizona and our broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents who hold the trademarks for Arizona Public Media and AZPM. We respectfully acknowledge the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples.
The University of Arizona