/ Modified oct 27, 2021 1:34 p.m.

Pinal County board chooses new legislators for vacant seats

Teresa Martinez and Neal Carter will fill seats representing Pinal County and northern Pima County.

360 cap dome pretty The dome atop the Arizona Capitol Museum at the State Capitol in Phoenix. January 2021.
AZPM Staff

The Pinal County Board of Supervisors tapped Teresa Martinez, an aide for U.S. Rep. Paul Gosar, to represent part of southern Arizona in the state Legislature.

Martinez will represent District 11, which includes Marana, Oro Valley and western Pinal County.

She replaces Republican state Rep. Bret Roberts, who announced his resignation last month and moved out of state.

Former state legislator Steve Smith had also sought the appointment.

The board also appointed attorney Neal Carter for a seat in the state House representing Oracle, San Tan Valley and Globe.

He replaces District 8 Republican state Rep. Frank Pratt, who died last month.

Carter ran unsuccessfully in the Republican primary against Pratt last year.

Former state legislator Chuck Gray also sought the appointment to succeed Pratt.

The appointments do not change 31-29 Republican majority in the state Legislature. State law tasks county supervisors with filling legislative vacancies, drawing on nominees chosen by the party of the previous office holder. The appointees will finish the remaining terms, which end in 2022.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media is a service of the University of Arizona and our broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents who hold the trademarks for Arizona Public Media and AZPM. We respectfully acknowledge the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples.
The University of Arizona